Welcome to HitGen

About

Enable Innovative Drug Discover with DEL, FBDD and SBDD

  1. About
  2. Case Studies

Novel BRD4 Degrader Discovery using DEL Technology Release Time:2021-03-10

Advantages of using DEL Selection for Protein Degrader Discovery  


DEL selection is an affinity-based approach to recognize compounds interacting with the target, including the compounds modulating target function(s) or simply binding to the protein. The architecture of a DNA Encoded Compound is very similar to proteolysis targeting chimeras (PROTAC) as shown in the following figure. Both DEL compound and PROTAC molecule require covalent linkage of two molecules with known attachment points that have minimal impact to the binding.


More importantly, DEL selection is able to identify affinity binders for Protein Of Interest (POI) and E3 ligases, therefore it has advantages in creating stronger intellectual properties and exploring therapeutic benefit from novel E3 ligase(s) by their tissue distribution differences. 


In a traditional DEL selection, where target is seeking for compound, the direct readout of DEL Selection is the absolute number of DNA sequences (ideally prepotential to number of compounds). In principle, when both POI and E3 ligase are used in the DEL selection, we are able to identify compounds binding to both proteins, using POI and/or E3 ligase as control(s).


POI-Compoun-E3 Ligase Ternary Complex Stability is the Key for Protein Degradation

In order to prove the above theory, we have used JQ1 as BRD4 binder, thalidomide as CRBN binder, linkers with different lengths to test whether we are able to distinguish the ternary binding stability. Specifically, six PROTAC molecules and dBET1 (a well-known BRD4 degrader, Biochem Biophys Res Commun. 2018, 497(1):410-415.) were made and their IC50 values were measured. From the IC50, we are not able to know which one(s) bind to both BRD4 and CRBN to form more stable complex. 

image.png

1617854703139904.png

Then these 6 PROTAC molecules and dBET1 were evaluated with a FRET based ternary complex formation assay, they clearly showed different capabilities in ternary complex formation. BRD4 degradation experiment in MV4;11 confirmed the differential degradation of these 6 PROTAC molecules. 

     image.png

DEL Selection Approach Positively Correlates to Complex Stability 

In order to confirm that DEL selection is able to distinguish complex stability, we made 6 corresponding PROTAC-DNA conjugates to see if different recovery can be observed from a DEL selection. In the “Conjugate Recovery Experiment”, Conjugate 1~6 were pooled into DEL library; a DEL selection process was conducted and the corresponding DNA sequence counts were compared (DEL selection please refer to “PROTAC DEL Selection”). Conjugate-4 is readily recognized as the optimal degrader molecule since it has significantly higher sequencing count, which is corresponding to number of compounds binding to CRBN-BRD4 complex. The length is consistent to optimal linker length in dBET1. On the other hand, recovered DNA sequences from CRBN and BRD4 samples did not give the correct trends. 

image.png

image.png

Spike-in conjugate Recovery from CRBN:BRD4 DEL Selection


Discovery of Novel BRD4 Degraders using HitGen PROTAC DELs 

HitGen PROTAC DELs include E3 ligase binders and diverse chemical structures, where thalidomide is to target CRBN and R1, R2, R3 are linker and POI binding variation, respectively.   

   image.png

CRBN Focused Protein Degradation DEL

PROTAC DEL Selection Plan and Objectives

For this specific DEL, thalidomide has been approved clearly to bind CRBN, therefore DEL Selection against CRBN alone was not included. The Selection Plan is outlined below.  

image.png

The aim is to identify any novel compounds binding to both BRD4 and CRBN over BRD4, subsequently proving that the PROTAC molecules with strong signals in Sample 2 result better BRD4 degradation.  


PROTAC DEL Selection Results 

For clarity, a specific plane with given R3 in the cubic presentation of DEL compound enrichment was compared between sample 1 and sample 2 (Blank sample not shown). 

      1617848052740490.png

Enrichment Comparison for Sample 1 vs Sample 2. Sample 1 only use BRD4 as the protein for DEL Selection; Sample 2 use both BRD4 and CRBN for DEL Selection. 


Plane R3=348 clearly suggests that many compounds on this plane are preferentially bind to both proteins (Sample 2) rather than just BRD4 (Sample 1). Meanwhile, there are also many compounds bind to both samples similarly. All the compound structures for BRD4 binding are different from JQ1 or any reported BRD4 binders. In order to compare the structure similarity, tarnimoto similarity is used to describe how different they are. When Tarnimoto similarity is greater than 0.8, two molecules are considered as similar. The representative compounds are selected and their tarnimoto similarity scores. 

 

image.png

Presumably, the compounds with bigger bubbles (higher sequencing counts) form more stable complexes than that with smaller bubbles. In order to prove this, we have selected 4 representative compounds with different sequence counts in sample 2 (11984, 15042, 119, 4459) for Off-DNA synthesis and protein degradation evaluation (Western Blot). These 4 compounds are named as 75-NX-1, 78-NX-1, 123-NX-1, and 127-NX-1, respectively. Using dBET1 as a reference, compound 75-NX-1, 78-NX-1 with higher sequencing counts observed very similar BRD4 degradation in MV4;11 cell; whereas compound 123-NX-1 almost did not observe BRD4 degradation. Compound 127-NX-1 did not show BRD4 degradation either. 

PROTAC compound 75-NX-1 and its BRD4 binding part (57-NX-1, structure not shown) are evaluated in anti-proliferation assay in MV4;11 (CCK-8), the results showed that compound 75-NX-1 has much higher activity than 57-NX-1 (Compound 57-NX-1 was found as a BRD4 inhibitor).  

image.png

Anti-proliferation Assay for PROTAC and its Precursor

Taken the above together, it suggests that DEL selection is an effective approach to discover or optimize PROTAC compounds to find the most stable POI:Compound:E3 ligase complexes which consequently will have higher chance to achieve protein degradation in cell. We are fully aware that there are additional factors could affect the protein degradation such as PROTAC compound solubility, lipophilicity, orientation and etc, but there is no doubt that DEL selection approach provides a very effective tool for ternary complex formation (an essential step for protein degrader optimization).    

image.png

Protein Degradation Related In Vitro Assays 

Questions?

For more details on how we can advance your innovative drug discovery projects
By submitting your information, you acknowledge having received, read and understood our Privacy Notice as made available above.

We use cookies to provide a better web experience.
By using our site, you acknowledge our use of cookies and please read our Cookie Notice for More information

Welcome to HitGen

成都先导

做最具创新力的生物医药企业     用最先进的科学技术赋能创新药研发

  1. 关于我们
  2. 项目案例

DNA编码化合物库技术实现新颖BRD4蛋白降解剂的发现 发布时间:2021-03-10

DNA编码化合物库技术在蛋白降解剂发现上的优势


DNA编码化合物库实现是一种基于亲和力的方法来识别与靶相互作用的化合物,这些化合物可能具有抑制或激动的功能或仅仅与蛋白质结合。DNA编码化合物的结构与蛋白质水解靶向嵌合体(PROTAC)非常相似,如下图所示。DEL化合物和PROTAC分子都需要两个具有已知连接点的分子共价连接,这两个连接点对结合的影响最小。 


更重要的是,DNA编码化合物库筛选能够识别感兴趣的蛋白质(POI)和E3连接酶的亲和力结合物,因此通过它们的组织分布差异,在创造更强的知识产权和探索新型E3连接酶的治疗效益方面具有优势。 


在传统的DNA编码化合物库筛选当中,目标是寻找化合物,筛选的直接读数是DNA序列的绝对数(理想情况下是化合物的绝对数量)。原则上,当POI和E3连接酶都用在DNA编码化合物筛选时,我们可以使用POI和/或E3连接酶作为对照来鉴定与这两种蛋白质同时结合的化合物。


POI-化合物-E3连接酶复合体稳定性是蛋白降解剂优化的关键

为了验证上述理论,我们以JQ1为BRD4亲和化合物,沙利度胺为CRBN结合化合物,用不同长度的连接体来测试是否能够区分三元键合的稳定性。具体地,我们合成了六个PROTAC分子和dBET1(一个著名的BRD4降解剂,Biochem Biophys Res common。2018,497(1):410-415),并测量其IC50值(下图)。从IC50值上,我们无法知道哪一个结合BRD4和CRBN形成更稳定的复合物。 

 

image.png

1618302907102054.png


然后用基于FRET的三元复合物稳定性实验对这6个PROTAC分子和dBET1进行了评价,它们在三元复合体稳定性实验中表现不同。BRD4在MV4;11中的降解实验也证实了这6个PROTAC分子的降解差异(见下图)。

     image.png


DNA编码化合物筛选信号与三元复合物稳定性正相关

为了证实DEL筛选能够区分复合物的稳定性,我们制备了6个相应的PROTAC-DNA共轭化合物(如图),以观察DEL筛选是否可以观察到不同的回收率。在“共轭化合物回收实验”中,将共轭化合物1~6汇集到我们的DNA编码化合物库中,进行DEL筛选,并比较相应的DNA序列计数,如图所示(DEL筛选请参考“PROTAC DEL筛选方法”)。共轭化合物-4是公认的最佳降解分子,因为它有显着更高的测序计数,这是对应的数量化合物结合到CRBN-BRD4复合物。该链接链的长度与dBET1中的最佳链接器长度一致。另外,从仅针对于CRBN和BRD4筛选的样本中共轭化合物的回收实验并不能预示哪个链长的共轭化合物具有最佳的链长。

 1618303061111830.png

PROTAC-DNA 共轭化合物

image.png 

DNA编码化合物库筛选中共轭化合物的回收(CRBN,BRD4,CRBN+BRD4)


通过DNA编码蛋白降解化合物库进行新颖BRD4蛋白降解剂的发现

我们的DNA编码蛋白降解化合物库包括E3连接酶结合化合物和数量巨大的多样性化合物结构以及不同长度的链长。下图是PROTAC DEL的通式一,其中沙利度胺靶向结合CRBN,R1、R2、R3分别是化合物库的链和不同化合物的砌块。

 image.png

以CRBN为E3连接酶的DNA编码蛋白降解库结构  


蛋白降解库的筛选和项目目标

在这个DNA编码的蛋白降解化合物库中,沙利度胺为公认的CRBN结合化合物,在本案中针对CRBN的筛选样本被忽略。具体实验方案如下:

1618303220522061.png

本项目的目的是获得与BRD4和CRBN结合的新化合物,然后证明样品2中具有强信号的PROTAC分子能更好地降解BRD4。


DNA编码蛋白降解化合物库筛选结果

下图中的样品1和样品2(未显示空白样品)之间比较了DEL化合物富集的选定R3的化合物。 

      1617848052740490.png

                                          样本1                                                                    样本2


平面R3=348清楚地表明,这个平面上的许多化合物优先与两种蛋白质结合(样品2),而不仅仅是BRD4(样品1)。同时,也有许多化合物与两种样品的结合强度相似。需要说明的是,所有用于BRD4结合的化合物结构都不同于JQ1或任何报道的BRD4结合物。为了比较二者的结构相似性,用Tarnimoto相似性来描述二者之间的差异。当Tarnimoto相似性大于0.8时,两个分子被认为是相似的。选择具有代表性的化合物,其tarnimoto相似性分数如图,说明我们发现的化合物为全新结构。

 

image.png


根据我们的推测,在样本2中气泡较大(测序计数较高)的化合物比气泡较小的化合物形成更稳定的复合物。为了证明这一点,我们在样品2中选择了4个具有不同序列计数(DNA序列计数为1198,15042,119,4459)的代表性化合物,用于非DNA合成和蛋白质降解评价(western blot)。这4种化合物分别命名为75-NX-1、78-NX-1、123-NX-1和127-NX-1。以dBET1为参照物,测序计数较高的化合物75-NX-1、78-NX-1在MV4;11细胞中观察到非常相似的BRD4降解;而化合物123-NX-1几乎没有观察到BRD4降解。化合物127-NX-1也没有显示BRD4降解。


在MV4;11(CCK-8)的抗增殖试验中,对PROTAC化合物75-NX-1及其BRD4结合部分(57-NX-1,未显示结构)进行了评价,结果表明,化合物75-NX-1的活性远高于57-NX-1(化合物57-NX-1被发现是BRD4抑制剂)。 

 

image.png

MV4;11细胞抗增殖实验


综上所述,通过DNA编码蛋白降解剂库筛选是一种快速和有效发现稳定POI:化合物:E3连接酶复合物的方法。我们充分意识到,还有其他因素可能影响蛋白质降解,如蛋白降解剂的溶解度、透膜性、结合方式等,但毫无疑问,DEL筛选方法为三元复合物的形成(蛋白质降解剂优化的一个重要步骤)提供了非常有效的工具。 


联系我们

业务咨询与服务
提交此表格即表示我同意成都先导可以按照隐私政策说明中所述的方式收集、处理我的数据。

为了使您在浏览本网站时获得最佳的体验,您需同意我们对Cookies的使用。想要了解更多有关于Cookies的信息,请阅读我们的 隐私政策。